Skip to content

20 Things You Don’t Know About Me

January 21, 2012

OK, I confess…I cribbed this idea from a supermarket tabloid. But I thought it would be fun to play along, so here are 20 things you may not know about me.

1. I love pandas. I just read a book called about them called The Way of the Panda, and regularly follow the panda keeper blogs on the ZooAtlanta and Smithsonian National Zoo web sites.

2. I love peanut butter and eat it straight from the jar. I never spread it on bread.

3. I get a half-pound of cheddar cheese at Garden of Eden so regularly, the deli guys there know me by name, and don’t even ask me what I want.

4. I cried like a baby when Christian Troy (Julian McMahon) surrendered little Wilbur to his bio dad on the now-defunct show Nip/Tuck. Loved Julian in that show! Soo hot! And his character had all the wittiest, snarkiest lines.

5. I am deathly afraid of fire and the dark.

6. I would love to go to Africa to see lions and China to see #1.

7. I would love to see Paris and return to Prague. I have never been to Paris and went to Prague once on a business trip, and thought it was beautiful.

8. I do not know what is scarier – that I own a toilet snake or that I know how to use it.

9. I am a closet romantic. I watch Say Yes to the Dress on TLC and My Fair Wedding with David Tutera on WE. I also read the Save the Date blog on glamour.com religiously.

10. I am a sucker for anything Kardashian. Khloé and Bruce are the voices of reason in that family.

11. My favorite TV shows are Downton Abbey and Pan Am. Between the late, lamented Sports Night and the on-the-bubble Pan Am, I owe ABC a very strongly worded letter or e-mail.

12. I love Asian food. If I only ate moo shu vegetables and steamed veggie dumplings for the rest of my life, I’d be a happy girl.

13. I listen to NYC’s local oldies station, 101.1 CBS-FM in my car.

14. I do not own an iPod, and never will. I do not own an iPad, and want to.

15. I nap in the afternoons two or three days a week.

16. I went to boarding school for two years of high school. I loved it. I wish I’d gone for three years, and repeated my sophomore year.

17. I originally wanted to be a doctor, but my real calling in life is as a journalist/writer, because I love to read so much. When my family lived in Scotland for three months when I was two, my parents had to join the local public library over there.

18. My professional idol is Barbara Walters. I never watch The View, but I never miss anything else she does.

19. As a child, I was obsessed with Matchbox cars and hippos. I still have a glass hippo that my late paternal grandmother gave me (see below).

20. My dream job is “figure skater.” I took skating lessons as a child, starting in about sixth grade. That is way too late to become seriously competitive, but if I had my life to do over, I’d start earlier, and strive for the Winter Olympics.

Now…What are some things people may not know about YOU?

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

